NZ Honorary Advisers

Simon Watt

Simon Watt is a consultant, former partner and board member in the Wellington office of the national law firm Bell Gully and has led Bell Gully' s public law and climate change practices.

Danny Chan

Danny Chan is an experienced director, with extensive accounting, finance, investment management and education experience.

Tania Te Whenua

Tania Te Whenua (Tūhoe, Whakatōhea) BA LLB AGNZ is principal of Te Whenua Law and Consulting, supporting organisations and the Crown to uphold the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi.

Sachie Nomura

Sachie Nomura is a chef and food writer and is the owner of cooking school Sachie’s Kitchen.

Hon Philip Burdon,
Foundation Founder

Hon Philip Burdon has had a distinguished career across the fields of law, business, and politics.

Rob Fyfe CNZM

Rob Fyfe is an experienced director, and former CEO of a global airline.

Traci Houpapa,

Traci Houpapa is the chair of the Federation of Māori Authorities (FoMA). She specialises in strategic and economic development.

Professor Manying Ip,

Manying Ip is Professor in Asian Studies at Auckland University and the author of several critically acclaimed books on Chinese in New Zealand.

Rt Hon Sir Don McKinnon,
ONZ, GCVO, Foundation Founder

Sir Don McKinnon was first elected to parliament in 1978. He was sworn in as Deputy Prime Minister in 1990 and became the longest-serving Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade in New Zealand's history.

Sir Anand Satyanand,

Sir Anand Satyanand has worked as a lawyer, Judge and Ombudsman and was New Zealand’s 19th Governor-General from 2006 until 2011.

Warrick Cleine

Warrick is the managing partner of deals, tax and legal, and chairman and CEO of KPMG in Vietnam and Cambodia.

Hon Lianne Dalziel, CNZM

Lianne Dalziel’s third term as Mayor of Christchurch will be her last term after just over 30 years of public service.

Paula Tesoriero, MNZM

Paula Tesoriero is chief executive at Whaikaha - The Ministry of Disabled People.

Sameer Handa, MNZM

Sameer Handa is a company director and executive member of the India New Zealand Business Council (INZBC).

Kyle Murdoch

Kyle Murdoch is a chief executive, company director and producer with 20 years of experience working in the media industry in Asia.

Simon Murdoch, CNZ

Simon Murdoch is a former Secretary Foreign Affairs and Trade and served on the board of the Asia New Zealand Foundation.

Nicola Ngarewa,
Ngāti Ruanui and Ngā Rauru

Nicola Ngarewa is the principal of Spotswood College and is the Chairperson of Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand.

Josh Wharehinga

Josh Wharehinga is the Deputy Mayor of Gisborne District Council and has had a long connection with the Asia New Zealand Foundation as a former member of the Leadership Network.

Lyn Lim, MNZM

Lyn Lim, (Huei Min Lim) MNZM originates from Malaysia and has strong interests and involvement in commercial and community activities relating to Asia.