Incredible talent joins
Foundation's Leadership Network

The Asia New Zealand Foundation inducted 48 talented young New Zealanders into its Leadership Network over the weekend.

Leadership network members talk about why they joined the network

The Leadership Network is a global group of high-achieving Kiwis from various sectors and industries who are at the forefront of developing and maintaining strong links between Asia and New Zealand.

 Newly inducted member Brad Olsen says his decision to apply for the network was to meet like-minded people with an interest in Asia and also to expand his knowledge of the region. 

“…as someone who wants to be a global citizen, I wanted to learn more about what is out there – what opportunities there are, what the culture[s] are like…”

Fellow inductee Guled Mire first learned of the Foundation and the Leadership Network when he was invited to speak at the network’s Refugee Hui at the Mangere Refugee Resettlement Centre last year.

He says hearing of the “incredible” community activities network members were involved in piqued his interest and he wanted to know more.

“For me it was about building those connections and having a better understanding of Asia . . . and how we can connect Asia to African communities and other communities in New Zealand.”

Speaking at the induction, which was held at Te Wharewaka o Pōneke on Wellington's Waterfront, Foundation executive director Simon Draper described the network as the “Jewel in the Foundation’s crown”.

He said this year the Foundation received more applications than ever before to join the network and the high calibre of those applications made the selection process particularly difficult.

“Applying to be part of the Network is a competitive process, and while all of the applicants in some way are already high performers, there were many very talented individuals who did not make it, so well done.”

Mr Draper emphasised to this year’s inductees that the network is called ‘Leadership Network’ for a reason – to help develop leaders.

The 48 new members are:
  • Allan Xia
  • April McLennan
  • Anna Johnson
  • Arjun Prakash
  • Benyamin Jamieson
  • Bhavya Dhar
  • Brad Olsen
  • Bronwyn Burns-Tilney
  • Cameron Massie
  • Dayeon Lee
  • Daniel Alexander
  • Derek Lieu
  • Dewy Sacayan
  • Emily Barker
  • Fine Lavoni Koloamatangi
  • Fraser Bermingham
  • Guled Mire
  • Harry Gibson
  • Harry Lusk
  • James Koudounis
  • James Pau
  • Jane Wang
  • Junior Lim
  • Kaitlyn White
  • Kali Stratford
  • Kristen Ng
  • Logan Williams
  • Margie Hunt
  • Max Lin
  • Nina Santos
  • Nirupa George
  • Penelope Jones
  • Raymond Suen
  • Samantha Jones
  • Sam Gaskin
  • Sam Macintosh
  • Sam Sachdeva
  • Sarah Novak
  • Sarah van Boekhout
  • Sebastian Newman-Dennis
  • Serena Lal
  • Shalini Guleria
  • Shreya Gejji
  • Steven Zohrab
  • Tara Officer
  • Ti Tauasosi
  • Xavier Breed
  • Zoe Tame